Your opinion

I have two daughters, one 18 and the other is 14..and let me tell you one thing, this is so true. Girls are motivated to lose weight by what they see in ads and on TV. What they don’t know is that most of these pictures are retouched. Actresses, singers, models. Everyone is slim to skinny. Why can’t they be inspired by a normal person? Because they are not constantly bombarded by ads of a normal person!

Why can’t women and young girls be satisfied with the body they have? Because of men? Because of the influence of ads? Because of women themselves?

I wasn’t skinny in my youth, i don’t have a great body, nor long skinny legs, i guess I’m just normal. And to top all that, I’m as lazy as they come! Yeah i don’t exercise (which i’m trying to change , only for health reasons)..

Some years ago, i was going through rough times, and i lost a lot of weight, i became skinny. I won’t say it didn’t feel awesome to be skinny (you look good in anything!),  i had no breast to speak of, and of course no buttocks (like an ironing board, my mom used to say!). On the downside, i looked older, my bones were sticking out, and i was always sick.

So to get back to my point, we are all born with a certain body that is just right for us. Be healthy, exercise, but don’t think that becoming skinny will change people’s opinion of you. You do that. By being your lovely self. We understand all that, but for teenagers it’s the end of the world (i wont wear a swimming suit, look at my legs!!!!, yeah right, look at mine!). I just wish ad agencies used more “normal” girls and instead of pushing adolescents into becoming anorexic, just promote good health combined with fashion!

*image,pinterest

4 Comments

Filed under life, teens

4 responses to “Your opinion

  1. When my daughter was young, I didn’t allow women’s magazines in our home. We watched television programs together and one of the shows we loved was Buffy. Sure, most of the characters were slender but Buffy herself was athletic as well as slender and Tara, beautifully played by Amber Benson, had a fuller-than-Hollywood-average figure. Of course, I couldn’t control what messages and such she received out in the “real” world but I could define what I allowed to enter into my own home.

    Funny thing . . . now that my children are adults, none of them ever complain about how I limited their television watching or insisted on discussing what we watched together during the commercials.

    As a PS, my daughter went through a zaftig stage in high school but now, as she approaches her 30s, she is athletic, going to daily walks, using kettle bells and such for strength training, etc. And she’s very slender because she eats mostly organic and fresh foods although she listens to her body and concedes she needs some animal proteins to give her the necessary strength and energy to function.

    Sometimes I think I may have actually done a good job at being a parent.

  2. I believe that people should accept what they have – their body is their temple. But, acceptance doesn’t mean reluctance. It means that people should work on achieving the best with *what they have*. I think just like we are encouraged to work on our intelligence and wealth of knowledge, it is equally important that we also work on the outside.

    Why not lose weight if our body allows us to? Why not try to diminish stretch marks and orange peel skin? Better yet, why don’t we try to avoid stretch marks? Why not try to achieve the best version of ourselves – both on the inside and outside? Much of the blame falls on the media, but in my opinion I don’t believe in the saying that is very popular in the US: Big and/is Beautiful. I admit that I don’t *generally* find Big Beautiful. I like small petite healthy figures for females. And for men, I like a healthy looking man – not necessarily muscled with 6 packs but just healthy with no flab and beer belly.

    I admit that I go to the gym regularly, I watch what I eat (fruits, greens and grills and portions), and I go to beauty institutes for seasonal treatments just to look after my physique and be able to maintain my healthy look. After all, the outside is a reflection of the inside. And I do this all for myself. Not for men. Not for society. Not for anyone. Just for me when I stand naked in front of the mirror. Just for me when I go shopping and I can look good in very flattering sizes. Just for me when I can go up a flight of stairs without losing my breath.

    As for the retouched image, I think it is much better. Should girls/women aim to emulate the retouched image? I am not sure! Like I said above, people should work with what they have and only they know the limit of their bodies. At the end of the day, a healthy look is desired. Anything that looks unhealthy, whether BIG or skinny boney, is not good.

  3. You are right about people’s opinion about you. It does not change because you loose weight, but that is what everyone is being made to believe through ads, tv, clothes industry,friends,other moms…to avoid All this influence is very
    difficult. To keep feeling good about yourself no matter what size you wear demands a huge selfworth and selfconfidence, and that is where our job as a mother is important. I am a person with curves, and have dreamt of being skinny most of my adult life. But now i am happy with myself, found clothes that fit me and that make me look good…it took time..but living healthy, walking, moving is probably the best way to keep good in your skin!

  4. Mette

    Like I always say: We are all different!
    No 2 persons are alike, neither inside nor outside!
    We must be happy with what we have and accept that. When it all comes down to the bottom line, we usually allready know if we should work a bit harder on lowering chocolate intake, adjusting our attitude, or getting a better exercise pattern when we look at ourselves in the mirror.
    The problem is different when it comes to teens…what are their expectations? Towards themselves and towards others. Where do they get their standards from? I agree, the public body image needs to reflect the way women actually DO look, not how we WISH we could look!
    I keep telling my daughter to embrace the way she looks and shine her light on what she likes about her body , rather than on the negative sides.
    She has an almost perfect body at the age of 11 and loves excercise. I would like her to keep her healthy attitude towards her own body and not let it be altered by others.
    We all need a little body fat, women in the childbearing age are meant to have a survival kit !
    I tell her that we are NOT supposed to be entirely skinny, and I truly belive in that, and cleary remember the sometimes sleepless nights, with a baby in my arms, breastfeeding, tired and sleepy.
    But being overweight is something else. Thats not a little extra survival kit.
    But again; we are all different 🙂

Leave a Reply

